EuroLeague: Baskonia's Marcus Howard Claims Alphonso Ford Trophy as Top Scorer of the Year.

Baskonia’s Marcus Howard secured the prestigious Alphonso Ford Trophy for the 2023/24 EuroLeague season, emerging as the competition’s leading scorer with an average of 19.5 points.

Marcus Howard of Baskonia clinched the Alphonso Ford Trophy for the 2023/24 EuroLeague season after delivering a stellar performance as the league’s top scorer, averaging 19.5 points across 39 games, totaling 759 points.

Mike James of Monaco closely trailed in the rankings with an average of 17.9 points, followed by Wade Baldwin of Maccabi Tel Aviv with 17.4 points.

At 25 years old, Howard becomes the second-youngest player to claim the Alphonso Ford Trophy, following Drew Nicholas, who achieved the feat at the age of 24 in 2006 while representing Benetton Treviso. Additionally, Howard joins Igor Rakosevtis as the second Baskonia player to secure the top scorer title in the premier European club competition, with Rakosevtis achieving this milestone in 2007, 2009, and 2011 (also in 2011 as a player of Efes).

It’s worth noting that the Alphonso Ford Trophy is named in honor of the legendary Alphonso Ford, who passed away from leukemia in September 2004 after a remarkable career during which he claimed the EuroLeague’s top scorer title twice, in 2000/01 and 2001/02, while playing for Olympiakos. Ford holds the record for the highest career scoring average in the EuroLeague, with 22.2 points across 54 games.

The past recipients of the Alphonso Ford Trophy include:

  1. Charles Smith (Pesaro) – 2005
  2. Drew Nicholas (Benetton Treviso) – 2006
  3. Igor Rakosevic (Baskonia) – 2007
  4. Mark Salyers (Roan) – 2008
  5. Igor Rakosevic (Baskonia) – 2009
  6. Linas Kleiza (Olympiacos) – 2010
  7. Igor Rakosevic (Baskonia) – 2011
  8. Bo McCaleb (Siena) – 2012
  9. Bobby Brown (Siena) – 2013
  10. Keith Langford (Armani Milano) – 2014
  11. Taylor Rochesti (Nizhny Novgorod) – 2015
  12. Nando De Colo (CSKA Moscow) – 2016
  13. Keith Langford (Unix Kazan) – 2017
  14. Alexey Swed (Khimki) – 2018
  15. Mike James (Armani Milano) – 2019
  16. Alexi Shved (Khimki) – 2021
  17. Vassilije Micic (Anatolou Efes) – 2022
  18. Sasha Vezhenkov (Olympiacos) – 2023

(Note: The 2019/20 season was not completed due to the pandemic)


Top Euroleague news is here!

Themis Prokopiou

By Themis Prokopiou

As an enthusiastic blogger, I take pride in crafting pages with high-quality content. Explore Euroleague news, predictions, and my personal views on this thrilling basketball institution.

Leave a Reply